Bloggers Anonymous

Blogger’s Confession

Hi.  My name is Terry Portillo and I’m a blogger.

bloggerMy blog, Generation HR, was originally intended to be a forum for fellow Human Resources professionals. Sadly, most of the HR conferences  I attend are so boring they should be billed as Humanoid Discourses. So I decided to devote my blog to cutting edge, controversial issues rather than creating yet another digital drug for insomniacs. Consequently,  my merry band of followers now  includes a bear hunter in Alaska, a stoner in Colorado, a pastry chef in Texas, and  a street photographer on the island of Patmos.  Gotta love Social Media. It doesn’t get any more diverse than this!

 Blogger’s Nine-Step Program

1. We admit that we are powerless over Blogging and that it has taken over our lives.

2. We’ve come to believe that a power greater than The Internet can restore us to sanity.

3. We choose to become Followers of God as we understand Him.

4. We Google and take a fearless moral inventory of our online presence.

5. We admit to ourselves and our Followers the exact nature of our wrongs.

6. We’re entirely ready for God to delete all these defects.

7. We humbly ask Him to remove our shortcomings and to  increase our Search Engine Optimization.

8. We make a list of all the people we’ve abused on Twitter and #makeamends.

9. Having had a social media awakening as the result of these steps, we share this message with fellow Gravatars.

 Blogger’s Prayer

God grant us the serenity to accept the things we cannot change,
the courage to blog about the things we can, and wisdom to know the difference.

Post-Script

I burned my family’s dinner while I was blogging this.

4 thoughts on “Bloggers Anonymous

  1. I woke up today and as the fog cleared my brain I realized I missed commenting on the most important (to me) part of this posting. That you seemed to be surprised at the diversity of people who would read and follow your writing.For a time I carried a mental stereotype about people living in the wilderness of Alaska..hard working and focused on survival. But I found in almost all cases every person I encountered was well read to the point of having massive amounts of books on a myriad number of subjects. So It is no wonder that a photographer, pastry chief, stoner or even a bear hunter are following your blog, because we are all aware that you are a great writer.

    • Thank you! I think I would feel very much at home in Alaska – those long winter nights and stacks and stacks of books. My husband, here in Texas, is quite the woodsmen and we are finally enjoying cool enough nights to have a roaring fire going in the living room.

Leave a Reply

